Love Fuel?    Donate

FuelPHP Forums

Ask your question about FuelPHP in the appropriate forum, or help others by answering their questions.
Volcano: Open Source Billing System
  • Hi Everyone!

I've been writing applications with FuelPHP for the past 2-3 years.

I recently open sourced a payment gateway-agnostic billing system called Volcano: https://github.com/volcano/billing

It still needs a lot of work but I'm really excited to see it continue to evolve in the open source community.

Check out the blog post if you're interested in the project's history: http://danielsposito.com/blog/2014/04/01/volcano-goes-open-source/

I'd love to hear any feedback and suggestions you have (feel fee to add these as GitHub Issues as well).

Cheers,
    --Daniel
  • This is VERY cool! And it looks the part too!

Any plans on expanding into area's like invoicing, so it can also be used as a finance backend, email invoices out, follow up on payments, etc?
  • Thanks! The goal is definitely to fully support recurring charges/invoicing.

Processing order transactions via Authorize.net works great at the moment but the recurring task needs to be fleshed out so that customers can be rebilled on a monthly/yearly basis: https://github.com/volcano/billing/blob/master/fuel/app/tasks/recurring.php

As far as emailing, Volcano supports event-based callbacks. For example, Volcano can POST data to an external callback URL when an order is generated, product canceled, credit card denied, etc. That way the 3rd party app can act accordingly (send branded email to customer, update feature ACL, etc).

I'm in the process of adding wiki docs on GitHub to further document the current design choices and features.

Definitely open to any and all feedback and feature requests at this point! There are already several ideas on the project's Issues page.
  • For billing purposes, yes, I found that.